Holiday House Details
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-exterior-01
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-exterior-garden-bench-loch-views-02
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-sitting-room-fire-01
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-kitchen-01
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-master-bedroom-01
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-sitting-room-loch-views-04
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-bathroom-01
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-master-bedroom-headboard-01
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-bathroom-03
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-shower-cubicle-01
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-bathroom-02
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-exterior-03
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-exterior-garden-bench-loch-views-01
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-exterior-05
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-exterior-06
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-exterior-04
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-dining-table-loch-views-02
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-dining-table-loch-views-03
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-dining-table-loch-views-01
the-seashell-ardnamurchan-lochaber-exterior-02
The Seashell
Acharacle
(5 reviews)
From £625 per week
Sleeps 2
1 bedroom
1 double
PAYABLE
online

Book / View Availability

BOOK YOUR HOLIDAY
Arrive
Depart
Due to proximity of your start date, we need to contact the owner.
Give us your contact details and we will be back in touch shortly.
Send details
Please enter your holiday arrival and departure dates.
Calculating price, please wait...
Oops, something appears to have gone wrong.
Please contact us by clicking here and we will help book your holiday.
Sorry these dates are not available.
However we have similar properties that have availability for your given dates:
Success! your dates are available.
plus any extras.
Book now
Your selection means that the property owner needs to confirm availability.
If you would prefer to secure a booking now, then select a multiple of seven days, starting on a Friday.
Your selection means that the property owner needs to confirm availability.
Your booking overlaps with the festive period. If you would like to secure a booking now, select either the .
- - Available
- - Not available
- - Your holiday can start on this day

Weekly Rates

From DateTo DateWeekly RateDeposit
Fri 02 Nov 2018Thu 20 Dec 2018£625£190
Fri 21 Dec 2018Thu 27 Dec 2018£925£280
Fri 28 Dec 2018Thu 03 Jan 2019£925£280
Fri 04 Jan 2019Thu 07 Feb 2019£625£190
Fri 08 Feb 2019Thu 04 Apr 2019£625£190
Fri 05 Apr 2019Thu 25 Apr 2019£925£280
Fri 26 Apr 2019Thu 23 May 2019£925£280
Fri 24 May 2019Thu 30 May 2019£925£280
Fri 31 May 2019Thu 20 Jun 2019£925£280
Fri 21 Jun 2019Thu 05 Sep 2019£1,025£310
Fri 06 Sep 2019Thu 19 Sep 2019£925£280
Fri 20 Sep 2019Thu 03 Oct 2019£925£280
Fri 04 Oct 2019Thu 24 Oct 2019£925£280
Fri 25 Oct 2019Thu 07 Nov 2019£625£190
Fri 08 Nov 2019Thu 19 Dec 2019£625£190
Fri 20 Dec 2019Thu 26 Dec 2019£925£280
Fri 27 Dec 2019Thu 02 Jan 2020£925£280
Fri 03 Jan 2020Thu 06 Feb 2020£625£190
Fri 07 Feb 2020Thu 02 Apr 2020£625£190
Fri 03 Apr 2020Thu 23 Apr 2020£925£280
Fri 24 Apr 2020Thu 21 May 2020£925£280
Fri 22 May 2020Thu 28 May 2020£925£280
Fri 29 May 2020Thu 18 Jun 2020£925£280
Fri 19 Jun 2020Thu 03 Sep 2020£1,025£310
Fri 04 Sep 2020Thu 24 Sep 2020£925£280
Fri 25 Sep 2020Thu 01 Oct 2020£925£280
Fri 02 Oct 2020Thu 22 Oct 2020£925£280
Fri 23 Oct 2020Thu 05 Nov 2020£625£190
Fri 06 Nov 2020Sat 19 Dec 2020£625£190
Sun 20 Dec 2020Sat 26 Dec 2020£925£280
Sun 27 Dec 2020Sat 02 Jan 2021£925£280

Description

It is hard to imagine a more romantic setting. Inspired by the natural curves of a seashell, this breath-taking architect designed holiday cottage on the west coast of Scotland is certainly in a league of its own. Set amongst the stunning scenery on The Ardnamurchan peninsula, The Seashell is a very special luxury haven created exclusively for couples looking for the ultimate dream escape.

Completely secluded on the side of a hill overlooking Loch Sunart in one of Britain’s last great wildernesses, this exquisite eco-friendly, curved house is made of glass, timber and stone with a gentle sloping turf roof allowing it to seamlessly blend into the stunning Scottish landscape that surrounds it.

As soon as you step inside, the awe-inspiring design and blissful tranquillity will envelop you. The bright and airy fully open-plan living and sleeping space is thrilling and the natural light and far-reaching views from the floor to ceiling windows magical. This mesmerizing room, curving round the central chimney with a raised, circular open log fire features a stylish kitchen and living area which then wraps round to the hand-crafted wooden bed and on to the elevated double spa bath and rain shower. The beamed fan-shaped wooden ceiling, heated ceramic tiled floors and state-of-the art lighting just add to the joy of this wonderfully comfortable house. This really is a fabulously cosy love-nest for two and the perfect setting for a romantic Scottish escape, special occasion or cherished honeymoon.

Outside, the gravel terrace with a stone-built barbeque and seating is a delightful spot for soaking up the stunning views across the little tidal island of Eilean Mòr and over the loch to the mountains and glens beyond. A path leads down to a lawn where deer can often be seen quietly grazing and the surrounding grounds are rich in wildlife including pine martens, otters and eagles. Ardnamurchan, with its glorious sunsets and star-filled skies, is home to beautiful white sandy beaches and ancient woodland providing endless opportunities and enjoyment for those who love the great outdoors. Seals, dolphins and even the occasional basking shark have been spotted on Loch Sunart.

The Seashell is sure to leave you revitalised with lasting memories of a very special place.

House images by; Michael Macgregor

PROPERTY CODE: N998

Layout

All on one level: 

Large curved open plan all-in-one living/sleeping space with open fire and south facing floor to ceiling windows – entrance hall leading to kitchen, sitting & dining area, bedroom, elevated double spa bath, whb, rain shower and separate WC. Separate utility room and second wet room with shower, WC & WHB.

Property all on one level - suitable for wheelchair users.

Outside:

Large gravel driveway extending to terrace with garden furniture and stone barbeque, path leading to lawn.

Please Note:

  • Private water supply - UV filtered/tested.
  • Limited mobile signal.
  • Full week bookings are Friday - Friday.
  • Short and special breaks available by arrangement only.
  • Call our sales team to enquire 01738 451 610

EPC Rating: C

Facilities

  • Salen (9 miles) – licensed general store, hotel with bar and restaurant
  • Kilchoan (12 miles) – general store, post office & ferry to Tobermory on the Isle of Mull
  • Strontian (18 miles) - post office, shop, tea room/crafts, hotel, petrol & Tourist Information
  • Ardgour & Corran Ferry (33 miles) – shop, hotel & petrol (Ardgour Stores – supplies can be pre-ordered / fishing rods & permits available)
  • Fort William (via car ferry 42 miles) - offering a large range of shops, supermarket, hotels & restaurants, swimming pool, leisure complex & 18-hole golf course
  • BBQ
  • Ceramic hob
  • Digital radio
  • Dishwasher
  • DVD player
  • Electric oven
  • Flat screen TV with FreeSat
  • Fridge/freezer
  • Garden furniture
  • Hairdryer
  • Linen and Towels provided
  • Microwave
  • Open fire - logs provided
  • Private driveway parking
  • Travel cot
  • Underfloor heating and all energy included
  • Washer/dryer
  • Waterside location
  • Wifi
  • Reviews

    (5 reviews)
    The Seashell reviews
    The most stunning place I have ever seen , panoramic views top top quality throughout, I could go on all night but go on and book yourself in you will not be disappointed . Thank you for allowing myself and my wife to enjoys this place , we will be back .
    Mr Poole - November 2018
    My Husband and I booked this cottage for our special birthdays so paid I little more than we would normally over £900. No one can deny that the cottage is in a splendid setting, the views are to die for, and everything was nice and clean, lovely clean white bed linen. However the cottage was quite cold when we arrived and there was no way to alter the temperature, we put the fire on straight away, plenty dry logs, but with it being a windy night unless you were sitting in front of the fire you were warm,but most off the heat went up the chimney. Poured the lovely large bath, but when entered the water was look warm, it was the same at the kitchen tap, there was no way you could wash dishes without boiling the kettle, the tempter off the water did not improve the whole week, we had to boil 4/5kettles to heat up the bath, and just used the dishwasher. The temperature in the cottage varied it was usually warm in the morning but chilly in the evening, the fire did help if it was not too windy. We did have a help line but this was basic needs that should be in place when you pay this amount for a week, and we were on holiday and did not want to be bothered with complaining, we were there to rest and enjoy the areanot be annoyed with sorting problems that should not have happened. We are used to holidaying in cottages and when you arrive they can be chilly, but have always managed to alter the settings, but this was a first that the water was not hot, and in the past have paid a lot less for the week. I would love to rate the cottage 4 star which it definitely is, if only the heating and water was better. Such I shame as we had a lovely week in a beautiful area saw plenty wild life. ,
    Owners Response: "Thank you for choosing to stay at the Seashell and for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry to hear that you had problems with the heating and hot water during the week, which affected your enjoyment of the cottage. We always strive to provide a 5-star experience for our guests, so we regret that you encountered this problem. It is unfortunate however that you chose not to use the helpline to call our local manager, Christine, who would have been delighted to visit and rectify the situation. While our aim is always to prevent any issues arising for our guests, problems do sometimes occur and that's where Christine can help. It's good to hear that you had an enjoyable week overall despite these problems, but should you wish to discuss anything further, you can ask Cottages & Castles for my direct contact details and I would be happy to respond personally."
    Mrs Yule - October 2018
    Ein wundervoller Platz um dort die Seele baumeln zu lassen , wir haben uns sehr wohl dort gefühlt . Es hat uns an nichts gefehlt und nach Hause wollten wir auch nicht mehr. Translation : A wonderful place to relax and unwind, we felt very comfortable there. There was nothing missing and we did not want to go home anymore.
    Mr Lauer - September 2018
    Lovely quirky cottage, great views from the windows, enjoyed our stay if you want peace and quiet this will do it for you. Saw porpoise’s in bay from window, hen harriers, otter and lots of different birds, went over to Mull on ferry from Kilchoan really easy but make sure you get your timings right sails every two hours or so. The Ardnamurchan visitor centre does good food and is just a five minute walk from cottage.
    Mrs Kay - July 2018
    Incredible place will return when we can!
    Mr Upton - April 2018

    Holiday Protection Scheme

    This property is covered by our Holiday Protection Scheme.

    Holiday Protection Scheme

    Cottages & Castles Ltd. (acting as agents for property owners) provides a guarantee for tenants who have to cancel their holiday at a cottage.

    If it is necessary to cancel your holiday, for any of the reasons A 1-5 below, you may do so at any time up until the close of business on the last working day before your tenancy commences and we will refund your balance. Your deposit is not refundable. If you have made a late booking and paid in full you will receive your payment minus the normal deposit sum (usually 30%).

    There is no charge for this holiday protection – it is included in the cost of your holiday. Please note that the protection does not apply to holidays in our properties with codes beginning with P (usually castles, mansions and lodges).

    Deposits may be transferred to a different date for a holiday at the same property within 12 months of the original holiday date, subject to availability, but not, however, for a different property. If the new booking is at a higher rate the tenant must pay the extra cost. No refund will be made if the new date is at a lower rate.

    A:
    1. Death, accidental bodily injury, or illness (excluding pre-existing or chronic illness/conditions, or illness arising through epidemics or pandemics)
    a) the Proposer and/or persons with whom he/she has arranged to travel.
    b) any close relative or business associate of the Proposer or of any person with whom he/she has arranged to travel or arranged to meet at the specified holiday establishment. We will require appropriate documentary evidence of illness or bodily injury from a registered medical practitioner. This evidence must state that the Proposer is unfit to travel.

    2. Jury service, witness call or unemployment through redundancy of the Proposer after the date of booking and prior to the commencement date of the holiday.

    3. Fire or theft which is the subject of an insurance claim at the Insured’s main residence or business premises within seven days before commencement of the holiday.

    4. Occupational postings not contemplated at the time the holiday is booked.

    5. Cancellation or curtailment of scheduled transport services due to strikes, riots or civil commotion, but limited to the cost of alternative transport up to £50 per person for the outward journey only.

    But not, however:

    B:
    1. Disinclination to travel.

    2. Failure of public or private transport.

    3. Suicide, attempted suicide, insanity, the influence of intoxicating liquor or the effect of drugs not taken in accordance with treatment prescribed and directed by a qualified medical practitioner or booking a holiday which is or would be against the advice of a registered medical practitioner.

    4. Pregnancy unless problems occur which prevent the person travelling. A  verification must be signed by a registered medical practitioner to this effect

    5. Any loss which is otherwise insured.

    6. Holiday accommodation booked outside Great Britain, Northern Ireland, Isle of Man and the Channel Islands

    NEARBY ATTRACTIONS