Duart Castle

Isle of Mull

Social Media
Contact Details
Phone number:+44 (0)1680 812309

Experience the uniqueness of Duart Castle, the 800 year old island home of the Maclean’s, one of Scotland’s most notorious Clans.

Visit us today and enjoy the ancient Keep, ghostly Dungeons, magnificent Banqueting Hall, quaint Edwardian State Rooms and breathtaking views from the Battlements. Revive yourself with homegrown, homemade delights in the Tearoom or enjoy a walk in the Millennium Wood or the Coastal paths around Duart point.
Travel to Mull via the Caledonian MacBrayne ferry from Oban or Lochaline. Castle opens April to October yearly. 

Duart Castle, proudly guards the sea cliffs of the Isle of Mull. Brought back from ruin in 1911, the Castle treasures 800 years of history of one of Scotland’s oldest Clans, The Maclean’s and it one of the last surviving privately owned Clan Castles in Scotland.

Visit us today and explore the turbulent past of the Clan, the battles and the love stories. Stand under and admire the stone Clan Crest or enjoy the blossoming Rowan Tree in the Castle Courtyard. Explore the ancient Keep and ghostly Dungeons. Browse the magnificent Banqueting Hall and quaint Edwardian State Rooms. Walk the Battlements and lose yourself in the breathtaking view out across the Sound of Mull.

There is more to enjoy outside the Castle including the Millennium Wood and Duart Point, a promontory which can be explored on foot.

Finish your visit with homegrown, homemade food in the Duart Tearoom or treat a loved one with a unique gift in the “Maclean’s of Duart” Gift Shop.

Throughout the Summer Months, Duart Castle plays host to a number of Weddings and Events such as Outdoor Theatre, Military Re-enactments, Music, Storytelling, Scottish Pipers and Highland Dancers.

Opening Times

1st APRIL: Open Sunday to Thursday, 11am to 4pm.

1st MAY to 18th OCTOBER: Open daily, 10:30am to 5pm. (Tearoom and Gift Shop close earlier on 11th October.)